Why I Walk – Susan Hudson

SusanHudson_WhyIWalk

I walk in honor of my father-in-law, a brilliant man with an infectious sense of humor. When he was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s at the age of 81 back in 2003, I didn’t know much about the disease, so I got involved with the cause immediately and participated in my first Walk.

I now serve as the 2014 Richmond Walk Chair and the upcoming Walk will be my eleventh.

Watching my father-in-law progress through the disease was extremely tough. He kept his humor despite Alzheimer’s but you could see his frustration as he began to forget his family. The experience was unimaginable for all of us who knew him and cared about him.

He passed away in 2008, so now I walk in his memory. I also walk because it’s about time we change the course of this disease and find a cure. We are losing too many people.

I am asking all of you to take the time and learn about Alzheimer’s. Understand the statistics. Learn the signs. When you realize just how many people are currently affected, and how many more will be affected by Alzheimer’s over the coming years, you will feel compelled to get involved and change the future.

The Walk to End Alzheimer’s is truly an experience that touches your heart in multiple ways.

Register for a Walk to End Alzheimer’s near you!

Northern Neck – Middle Peninsula: September 20th
Register at http://bit.ly/ALZ_Walk_NorthernNeck

Fredericksburg: September 27th
Register at http://bit.ly/ALZ_Walk_Fredericksburg

Tri-Cities: October 18th
Register at http://bit.ly/ALZ_Walk_TriCities

Richmond: October 18th
Register at http://bit.ly/ALZ_Walk_GRVA

Leave a Reply

