Why I Walk – David Goldberg

Why I Walk

 

My name is David Goldberg, and I walk in honor of my grandfather, Ervin Alperin, who passed away from complications of Alzheimer’s in 2010. I also walk for the 5-million Americans and their families who have been affected by Alzheimer’s. I walk for my friends, who, in their 20’s, are faced with the challenges of seeing their parent battle Alzheimer’s disease.

Although Alzheimer’s is primarily thought of a disease of older people, 200,000 Americans have early-onset Alzheimer’s. Early-onset Alzheimer’s affects people in their 50’s, 40’s, and even 30’s. It is difficult enough to see one’s grandparent struggle with Alzheimer’s disease, but it’s a whole different story when someone in their 40’s and 50’s, in the prime of their career and raising a family, suddenly is unable to work.

I Walk for my generation!

Alzheimer’s has the potential to become one of my generation’s biggest problems. In financial terms, care of Alzheimer’s patients is estimated to cost the United States $214 billion in 2014. As the Baby Boomers continue to grow older, this number will only increase and it’s projected that by 2050, 16-million Americans will have Alzheimer’s disease.

I Walk to show that young people can make a difference.

The ALS Ice Bucket Challenge has shown all of us that if everyone puts in a little effort, it adds up. I encourage everyone, including young people, to simply register for the Walk to End Alzheimer’s. Your registration raises awareness!

Last year, 55 students and faculty from VCU came together to form the “Rams for Memory” Walk to End Alzheimer’s team. This team consisted of medical students, public health students, undergraduates, social workers, professors, and even members of the Women’s Basketball Team and we raised over $4000 – the 9th highest fundraising team for the Richmond Walk.

This year, I am challenging all the members of the VCU community to come together and beat last year’s results. Please check out our “Rams for Memory” video: http://youtu.be/ZDMLxoy5SRc

Let’s aim for 100 “Rams for Memory” Walk Team members and raise at least $10,000. With over 30,000 students, this is an achievable goal!

Let’s go RAMS!

To register your team, or to donate, please visit alz.org/walk

Northern Neck – Middle Peninsula: September 20th
Register/donate at http://bit.ly/ALZ_Walk_NorthernNeck

Fredericksburg: September 27th
Register/donate at http://bit.ly/ALZ_Walk_Fredericksburg

Tri-Cities: October 18th
Register/donate at http://bit.ly/ALZ_Walk_TriCities

Richmond: October 18th
Register/donate at http://bit.ly/ALZ_Walk_GRVA

One thought on “Why I Walk – David Goldberg

  1. I walk because of not only my Dad, Jerry Haut, but because of your grandfather Ervin Alperin who was like my “second father”. Dad became hypoxic after surgery and lost most of his memory the same time Ervin was told he had Alzheimer’s that February. It not only robs your memory you become frustrated that you can’t remember and you know that you become a burden on your family and friends. Sometimes Dad would “come back” and we would be able to have normal conversations, like nothing was wrong, and then he would drift back to the past again. I miss him every day

    My Dad passed away the day after Ervin’s un-veiling on June 13, 2011.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

