Why I Walk – Kia Jordan

Why I Walk

My name is Kia Jordan and I Walk to End Alzheimer’s in honor of my Great-Aunt Kate, who recently passed away at 93 after a ten year battle with Alzheimer’s.

She was full of joy and light-hearted humor. You could always count on her to have a good joke even if she forgot midway of telling it. She adored her children and grandchildren and loved spending time with her sister, my grandmother.

Ever since I was a little girl, I can remember her always having memory problems and as the years passed, they just got worse.

She was always a happy person when around family but at some family functions, you could tell she was uncomfortable if there were too many people around and she would go into a shell and just sort of look around with a blank stare. But then there were times when she would come to my grandmother’s house and they’d laugh and everything seemed okay.

In 2013, she had her leg amputated and she never really seemed the same after. She battled with the realization that her leg was gone and I believe the amputation really got to her and discouraged her not only physically, but mentally and emotionally. Though she never showed it, I know it saddened her. I would ask her how she felt and she never once complained. The most she’d say is “I’m doing” or “I’m just a little sore, but I’ll be fine.”

Through it all, her strength always amazed me!

I plan to Walk each year to honor her legacy.

For more information on the Walk to End Alzheimer’s, please visit alz.org/walk

Leave a Reply

