Why I Walk – Elise Patterson

WhyIWalkMy name is Elise Patterson and I Walk to End Alzheimer’s for my grandmother and great-grandmother.

Alzheimer’s is prevalent in my family, with my great-grandmother being diagnosed before I was born.

My family has shared stories from when my mother was pregnant with me, and how my great-grandmother, despite being told of the pregnancy and seeing my mother often, was surprised and upset when I was born because, as my great-grandmother said, “nobody told me.”

I Walk for her and her memory.

My grandmother was diagnosed with Alzheimer’s nearly seven years ago. It has been upsetting to come to the realization that my extremely intelligent grandmother is no longer able to carry on a conversation about our mutual love of literature, particularly Shakespeare. Because I live hours away from home, I do not see her as often as I would like, and now I am afraid that every time I see her, she will no longer recognize me.

So, I also Walk for her and in her honor.

The Walk to End Alzheimer’s is an unforgettable experience! Just being there, seeing so many people Walking in honor of those they love, or in memory of those they’ve lost was so inspiring.

Everyone needs to get involved.

If Alzheimer’s hasn’t touched your life yet, just imagine what it would be like to go home and have your own mother, or grandmother, not know who you are. View you as a stranger. Nobody should have to go through this terrible disease, and neither should their loved ones.

We CAN end Alzheimer’s by coming together.

You can now register for the 2015 Walks to End Alzheimer’s!

Northern Neck – Middle Peninsula: Register and donate at bit.ly/NNMPWalkToEndALZ2015

Fredericksburg: Register and donate at bit.ly/FredericksburgWalkToEndALZ2015

Richmond: Register and donate at bit.ly/RVAWalkToEndALZ2015

Leave a Reply

