Why I Walk – Michelle Gomez

Gomez

My name is Michelle Gomez and I Walk to End Alzheimer’s in honor of all those affected by the disease – their caregivers, their families, their friends.

I Walk to support and advocate for the residents and families at Greenfield Senior Living communities, where I work. Prior to my employment at Greenfield, I never saw first-hand how Alzheimer’s and dementia impacts so many lives, and my eyes have been opened to a heart breaking journey.

I listen to the stories of our residents. Who they once were. Who they are now.

I am here for these families, to reassure them, to share their stories, their challenges. I let them know that if they can’t cry here, where are they going to cry, and I have shared their tears.

I remind them to live in the moment – every single moment – and enjoy these moments as much as possible.

This year, I am also delighted to be the 2015 Fredericksburg Walk to End Alzheimer’s Chair.

I am proud to champion the cause and to engage and motivate others in our community to get involved.

Together, we can and will stay strong, walk on, and end Alzheimer’s!

You can now register for the 2015 Walks to End Alzheimer’s.

Northern Neck – Middle Peninsula: Register and donate at bit.ly/NNMPWalkToEndALZ2015

Fredericksburg: Register and donate at bit.ly/FredericksburgWalkToEndALZ2015

Richmond: Register and donate at bit.ly/RVAWalkToEndALZ2015

Leave a Reply

