Why I Walk – Tessa Anderson

WhyIWalk

My name is Tessa Anderson, and I Walk to End Alzheimer’s for my grandmother, Theresa Zarbo.

My name, Tessa, means little Theresa, and I am so proud to carry a little piece of my grandmother with me. She was truly a saint every single day—from the moment she was diagnosed to the day she slipped away. Theresa was the hardest working, most intelligent woman I have ever known. She graduated from high school at age 16 and went to Hunter College on a full ride in the 1940s. She was not only a dedicated mother, wife and teacher, but also an artist. We have her artwork all over our family home, from oil paintings to wicker baskets to beautiful afghans.

My family connected as a unit to take care of my grandmother around the clock while she battled this insidious disease. I loved watching her light up while we colored with crayons or played with finger paints. Even though her motor skills were greatly impaired, she still enjoyed expressing herself through art. Alzheimer’s may have taken her brain, but it never stole her spirit. My grandmother never complained and was a courageous soldier throughout the stages of Alzheimer’s. I hope I have inherited her resilience.

You can now register for the 2015 Walks to End Alzheimer’s!

Northern Neck – Middle Peninsula; Saturday, September 19th at Bethpage Camp Resort. Register and donate at bit.ly/NNMPWalkToEndALZ2015

Fredericksburg; Saturday, September 26th at University of Mary Washington. Register and donate at bit.ly/FredericksburgWalkToEndALZ2015

Richmond Walk to End Alzheimer’s; Saturday, November 7th at Innsbrook. Register and donate at bit.ly/RVAWalkToEndALZ2015

Leave a Reply

