Why I Walk – Cindy Hamlin

WhyIWalk

My name is Cindy Hamlin and I Walk to End Alzheimer’s for my friend Gloria.

In 2013, the cause became personal when I lost her to Alzheimer’s. She was a force of nature who hated losing her independence.

Until Gloria, I had not been directly affected by Alzheimer’s.

During the same time period, while working in the senior healthcare industry, I saw first-hand the devastation that Alzheimer’s has on the individual, their caregivers, and their family.

The wife of a former serviceman sent me a lovely thank you note because she wanted me to understand that the man I was seeing at work was not her husband. He was in the late stages of Alzheimer’s, and she talked so lovingly about the man he used to be. After she attended the Caregivers Coalition, it eased her embarrassment over some of things, as she described him, her “gentleman husband,” had been doing.

As I work to raise money for the Walk to End Alzheimer’s at various events in the area, I am moved by the fact that there is not a person that I come into contact with that has not had someone in their circle afflicted or touched by the disease. Realizing this, I am motivated to work toward a world without Alzheimer’s!

Please join me in the fight to #ENDALZ.

You can now register for the 2015 Walks to End Alzheimer’s!

Northern Neck – Middle Peninsula; Saturday, September 19th at Bethpage Camp Resort. Register and donate at bit.ly/NNMPWalkToEndALZ2015

Fredericksburg; Saturday, September 26th at University of Mary Washington. Register and donate at bit.ly/FredericksburgWalkToEndALZ2015

Richmond Walk to End Alzheimer’s; Saturday, November 7th at Innsbrook. Register and donate at bit.ly/RVAWalkToEndALZ2015

Leave a Reply

