Why I Walk – Christy Talbott

WhyIWalk

My name is Christy Talbott and I Walk to End Alzheimer’s in honor of my best friend and husband Don. Don and I have been married for 28 years. When Don was 39 years old, I knew he had something very wrong with him. It took two years to get the final diagnosis of Alzheimer’s disease. Don was only 41 years old when he was told to go home and get his affairs in order. It seemed every day I was losing a little piece of the man I once knew and loved.

My journey to help my husband started with the Alzheimer’s Association.

Education, support groups and trial match changed our lives forever!

The complex course of Alzheimer’s can be so overwhelming. Alzheimer’s education prepared me to advocate for my loved one. Support groups gave me the coping skills I needed and reminded me I was not alone. Trial match has been a life-altering blessing in our lives. Don was involved in two drug studies and most recently had a Deep Brain Stimulator (DBS) placed at Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, Maryland. The DBS is making a difference in his ability to remember and communicate.

Without the Walk to End Alzheimer’s there would be no funding for educational programs, support groups and research!

Hope is a terrible thing to lose.

The walk provides us HOPE THAT ONE DAY WE WILL HAVE THE FIRST PERSON SAY I AM AN ALZHEIMER’S SURVIVOR.
You can now register for the 2015 Walks to End Alzheimer’s!

Northern Neck – Middle Peninsula; Saturday, September 19th at Bethpage Camp Resort. Register and donate at bit.ly/NNMPWalkToEndALZ2015

Fredericksburg; Saturday, September 26th at University of Mary Washington. Register and donate at bit.ly/FredericksburgWalkToEndALZ2015

Richmond Walk to End Alzheimer’s; Saturday, November 7th at Innsbrook. Register and donate at bit.ly/RVAWalkToEndALZ2015

Leave a Reply

