Why I Walk – Ryan Redd

RyanRedd

My name is Ryan and I walk in memory of my great-aunt Eva and to find a cure for her sister, my great-aunt Bea (Beatrice).

I remember growing up and going to visit Aunt Eva; she knew her way around the kitchen and made the best brownies and always set aside a tin just for me, no nuts if you please.

At the time of her diagnosis, my family was unaware of the support and resources provided by the Alzheimer’s Association.

Since joining my local chapter as a volunteer, I’ve made it my mission to share my experiences and involvement with the chapter in an effort to help others; it seems as though everywhere I go, I meet someone who has been touched by this devastating disease.

My great-aunt Bea has been recently diagnosed, and though the news of her diagnosis is sad; she is still just as sharp and quick-witted as ever.

Please join me and thousands of other Central Virginians in our effort to raise awareness and funds to combat this terrible disease.

The Alzheimer’s Association is the brains behind saving yours; join us in the fight to end Alzheimer’s!

You can now register for the 2015 Walks to End Alzheimer’s!

Northern Neck – Middle Peninsula; Saturday, September 19th at Bethpage Camp Resort. Register and donate at bit.ly/NNMPWalkToEndALZ2015

Fredericksburg; Saturday, September 26th at University of Mary Washington. Register and donate at bit.ly/FredericksburgWalkToEndALZ2015

Richmond Walk to End Alzheimer’s; Saturday, November 7th at Innsbrook. Register and donate at bit.ly/RVAWalkToEndALZ2015

Leave a Reply

